Hills2City — Celebrity News, Entertainment News, Fashion

From Coast to Coast! The news stirred, not shaken.

A Positive Move

#Career

positiveTheExaminer

Lauren Conrad isn’t the only one who’s been diversifying her career in 2012; BFF Lo Bosworth is also changing things up.

Following the end of theHills, Lo started a Development role at Octagon Entertainment.  Recently Lo moved to New York City, experienced Hurricane Sandy and embarked on her new career as a Producer.

For her first project, Lo has Executive Produced a documentary for MTV called I’m Positive.  The documentary tells the story of three HIV-Positive young adults, and aired on MTV on Saturday, December 1, for World AIDS Day.

Lo shares with ….TVology, “I’ve always known that I wanted to be an executive producer, and be a part of entertainment in a bigger way. So this was me dipping my toe in the water for the very first time! I actually created the concept for the show after spending a weekend with friends and family—one of my close childhood friends introduced me to his boyfriend, and then pulled me aside and told me that [his boyfriend] was HIV-positive.”

She continues, “And he was asking me things like what I thought, and was he doing the right thing by dating him, and I realized that this was my first personal experience with the disease… I’ve always studied it, so I had a good understanding, but this was the first time it struck me on an emotional level. I realized that our generation isn’t as focused on HIV as we were 10, 20 years ago. It’s not something we talk about anymore, yet it’s so significant, and we’ve all been touched by it, whether we realize it or not. I think it’s really important to bring it back to our conversations.”

When asked which area she saw her new career heading, Lo replied, “You know, my heart is with unscripted television! (Laughs) I was on it for so long! I’m so, so happy that my first project is I’m Positive. It holds so much personal significance for me, and as a professional, it’s something that I’m very, very proud of. But I’m actually working on so many things- I actually have two lives when it comes to what I do. I’m very much focused on working on TV, and always coming up with projects. But I’m also the co-founder in a tech startup, and that’s what I work on full-time! So I have a very interesting balance between being an entrepeneur and working in technology, and sticking close to my roots!”

For more from Lo, head to …TVology to read the rest of the interview.


Leave a Reply

