Hills2City — Celebrity News, Entertainment News, Fashion

From Coast to Coast! The news stirred, not shaken.

The Next Chapter

#Writing

Lauren Conrad

On Monday, August 20, Lauren Conrad took to her blog page and shared a brief description of the process of writing and publishing her book series.

Her next books to her series, Starstruck: A Fame Game Novel and Lauren Conrad Beauty, will be coming out together on the same date, Tuesday, October 16.

On When She Likes To Write:

“I like to write at night when my cellphone isn’t ringing, my roommates are asleep and all is quiet. I always start with a detailed outline and then flesh out the story I want to tell from there.”

On What Her Favorite Part Is:

“Once I share this outline with my editor, I begin writing… My favorite part.”

On What The Hardest Part Is:

“To be honest, the hardest part about writing is staying on schedule. Writing isn’t my full-time job so it usually gets pushed to the side by work-related commitments with Paper Crown, my website, or Kohl’s photo shoots and design meetings. (Full disclosure—I’ve had to ask for deadline extensions on more than one occasion.) Once the manuscript is complete, my editor will make revisions. From this point forward, my editor and I work very closely together to edit and fine-tune the story until we are both happy with the final draft. This is called “the editing process.” It’s definitely one of the most grueling parts of writing a book…”

On The Editing Process:

“When my editor, Farrin, and I were editing Starstruck we stayed up past 3 am working away, burning the midnight oil. As you can imagine, I went a little stir crazy after being locked up in the same room for hours on end. Farrin wanted to kick my butt because we were working on a chapter that mentioned Jane Fonda and I kept playing that Mickey Avalon song called “Jane Fonda.” Let’s just say that Farrin did not want to do the Jane Fonda… But to be honest, I was really just trying to stay awake at this point. Sometimes you have to make lemonade when you’re stuck with lemons :-) During another never-ending editing session, I ended up sitting on my eyeglasses. Not a good thing for editing. I decided to put my MacGyver skills to work so they would at least stay on my head while I was working. On my birthday, we were working onLauren Conrad Beauty. We had to work all day and night…so I did what any logical birthday girl would do and ate cake for every meal. Thankfully Farrin followed suit too…cake binging is always best when you have a partner in crime, right? …and then I got stir crazy again and popped some champagne. It was a birthday gift! Wouldn’t you do the same? Finally, after hours upon hours of work, we finished theLauren Conrad Beauty edits. This is another one of my favorite parts of the process…finishing!”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,028 other followers

