Hills2City — Celebrity News, Entertainment News, Fashion

From Coast to Coast! The news stirred, not shaken.

2012 CFDA Awards: Winners


Long known as the “fashion Oscars”, the CFDA Awards were held at New York’s Lincoln Center on Monday, June 4. 2011’s awards were derided for being a little light on female fashion designers, so it was really exciting to see Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, Tabitha Simmons and Garance Doré take home awards this year.

Mary-Kate and Ashley proved that they have come a long way since their Full House days, winning the most coveted award of the night for their label The Row, Womenswear Designer of the Year!  The fact the sisters won this award over big names like Marc Jacobs and Proenza Schouler means the Olsen’s have officially arrived.

Along with being presented with the Generation Award at this years MTV Movie Awards, Johnny Depp was honored by the CFDA with their Fashion Icon Award.  We’re wondering if this means we’re going to start seeing our boyfriends and husbands start to get style inspiration from Mr Depp?

The full list of nominees and winners for 2012’s CFDA Awards is as follows:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
The Nominees: Marc Jacobs, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler
The Winner: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year
The Nominees: Patrik Ervell, Billy Reid, Simon Spurr
The Winner: Billy Reid

Accessories Designer of the Year
The Nominees: Alexander Wang, Reed Krakoff, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler
The Winner: Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Womenswear
The Nominees: Joseph Altuzarra, Chris Peters and Shane Gabier of Creatures of the Wind, Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty of Suno
The Winner: Joseph Altuzarra

Swarovksi Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear
The Nominees: Antonio Azzuolo, Todd Snyderm, Phillip Lim
The Winner: Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Accessories
The Nominees: Tabitha Simmons, Pamela Love, Irene Neuwirth
The Winner: Tabitha Simmons

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger

International Award: Rei Kawakubo

Founders Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Rosen

Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Scott Schuman and Garance Doré

Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp

Get Styleite directly to your inbox,
on Twitter,
and on Facebook!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: