Hills2City — Celebrity News, Entertainment News, Fashion

From Coast to Coast! The news stirred, not shaken.

Karl Tries To Take It Back

#Fashion

When asked recently his opinion on current female pop stars, Karl Lagerfeld mentioned that he loved Adele, and couldn’t wait for her new album to come out.  He also made the following faux pas, saying to UK paper Metro this week, “She is a little too fat, but she has a beautiful face and a divine voice.”

Adele, who won six Grammy’s at Sunday night’s awards, has so far not responded to Karl’s comments.  She has spoken about her body image in the past though, saying to People magazine that she’s happy with her looks, “I’ve never wanted to look like models on the cover of magazines. I represent the majority of women and I’m very proud of that.”

Last year she said, “I enjoy being me; I always have done. I’ve seen people where it rules their lives, you know, who want to be thinner or have bigger boobs, and how it wears them down. And I just don’t want that in my life. It’s just never been an issue – at least, I’ve never hung out with the sort of horrible people who make it an issue. I have insecurities of course, but I don’t hang out with anyone who points them out to me.”

When speaking to Anderson Cooper on his most recent show this Sunday, Adele added to her positive image, saying, “I don’t want to be some skinny mini with my t*** out. I really don’t want to do it and I don’t want people confusing what it is that I’m about.”

Although Adele hasn’t directly addressed Karl, she has her supporters.  An LA-based blog called Curver and Chaos wrote, “Are you freaking kidding me? We’re done with him and Chanel as long as he’s involved with them.”

Kelly Cutrone added, “If you love Adele then boycott Chanel.”

The Chanel maestro himself spoke to Metro again, following the backlash, releasing the following statement:

“I’d like to say to Adele that I am your biggest admirer. Sometimes when you take a sentence out of the article, it changes the meaning of the thought. What I said was in relation to Lana Del Rey and the sentence has since been taken out of context from how it was originally published.  I actually prefer Adele, she is my favorite singer and I am a great admirer of her. I lost over 30 kilos over 10 years ago and have kept it off. I know how it feels when the press is mean to you in regards to your appearance. Adele is a beautiful girl. She is the best. And I can’t wait for her next CD.”


Leave a Reply

